Charity shop treasures

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b28/80330716/files/2014/12/img_4763.jpgI love clothes shopping, but I feel so guilty when I spend a lot (which in my mind, is about £20 per item) on things that I’ll probably hate within six months. Most of my wardrobe is made up of Primark, H&M and charity shops for this reason, but it is quite difficult walking down Oxford Street on my way to work and seeing all the amazing clothes. I just want to buy them all. I wondered if it was possible to find any bargains in an area like this, and so I did a bit of googling and discovered that there was actually a Salvation Army (a charity shop) just off Regent Street. How exciting! I hoped this would mean I’d find lots of really nice bits and pieces, considering nearby there’s designer stores like Michael Kors, Armani, and Lacoste nearby. I don’t really care about designer labels myself, but I figured the area would dictate the kind of quality of the clothes inside.

I thought about spending yesterday’s lunch break watching The Apprentice and feeling sorry for myself (I have a cold) with a cup of tea, but I braved the outside world in the hope that I could find a lovely coat. I read up on a few blogs which said that the shop is a bit of a treasure trove, so I figured it was worth it, and as I walked in I wasn’t disappointed at all./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b28/80330716/files/2014/12/img_4760-0.jpgThere were brand new clothes with the tags still on being sold for half the price. I spotted faux fur gilets, leather jackets, designer shoes, a few cocktail dresses, hundreds of jeans and jumpers, books, all sorts. It was quite a small sized shop but they really did cram it all in. And best of all – I was one of just four shoppers. I love the hustle and bustle of London but shopping can be a nightmare when there are hundreds of people browsing at the same time. This was like a little slice of peace. Perfect!

I had a look at a few coats and was disappointed to see that most of them were around £30 to £40. They were in perfect condition so the prices were definitely justified, but I was hoping to find something cheaper. After bit of a browse I stumbled upon this gorgeous, camel coloured coat from Mango, which was priced at something like £17.50. Bargain! I snapped it up and was pleased (and horrified, as this means I’ll probably end up spending tons in there) that they take card payments, as most charity shops don’t. When I got back to the office I looked it up and found it had been discontinued from Mango, but that it once cost 99 euros on one website, which is about £78!/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b28/80330716/files/2014/12/img_4768.jpg

Overall I’m really pleased with this and I’ll be going back there after Christmas to see if anyone has donated any unwanted gifts for me to buy for just a fraction of the cost. Yes please! If you’re interested in having a look yourselves, the shop is located on Princes Street, near the FCUK shop on Regent Street.

I also snapped up four jumpers and a scarf from some charity shops near our flat the other day too, (scarf is pictured, cost me just £2) for the grand total of £19, but it’s rare to find anything really amazing around that neck of the woods. I’m going to be hunting down a few more in more posh areas of London to try and get some more bargains.

Frankie x

Leave a Reply

